Agfianto Eko Putra on June 11th, 2009

The techniques being embraced across the microprocessor industry are chip multiprocessors (CMPs) and chip multithreaded (CMT) processors. CMP, as the name implies, is simply a group of processors integrated onto the same chip. The individual processors typically have comparable performance to their single-core brethren, but for workloads with sufficient thread-level parallelism (TLP), the aggregate performance [...]

Continue reading about CMP vs. CMT, what’s this?

Agfianto Eko Putra on June 9th, 2009

OpenSPARC is an open source hardware project started in December 2005. The initial contribution to the project was Sun Microsystems‘ Register transfer level (RTL) Verilog code for a full 64-bit, 32-thread microprocessor, the UltraSPARC T1 processor. On 21 March 2006, Sun released the source code to the T1 IP core under the GNU General Public [...]

Continue reading about OpenSPARC Training (8-9 Juni 2009)

Agfianto Eko Putra on March 27th, 2009

Pada hari Rabu, 25 Maret 2009, ITB mengundang tiga perguruan tinggi, UGM, ITS dan UI, untuk bersama-sama mendiskusikan berbagai macam kemungkinan proyek yang mendapat dukungan dari Sun Microsystem dengan program OpnSPARC-nya. Kebetulan dari UGM saya (Agfianto Eko Putra, M.Si. dan Alrosyid, S.Si. yang menggantikan Jazi Eko Istiyanto, Ph.D. yang sedang ke Belanda saat itu) yang [...]

Continue reading about Indonesia OpenSPARC Iniative Workshop